New NHS Members


Eleven students were inducted into the University City High School chapter of the National Honor Society at 7 p.m., Thursday, March 7 in the Boardroom of the McNair Administration Building.

Sophomores Walter Deitzler, Derrick Freeman, Lillian Lewis, Emily Lobby, Alice Mutrux and Benjamin Pomerantz; juniors Marlynna Blumer, Claire Tschampel, and Caitllyn Ward; and seniors Charese Jeffries and Daniel Politte received certificates for the accomplishment.

Principal Michael Maclin addressed the group, as well as a guest speaker, Brian Vandenberg, Ph.D. Dr. Vandenberg is professor of psychology at the University of Missouri St.-Louis, and a University City resident.

Only applicants with a minimum 3.3 GPA and who demonstrate leadership, character and service were considered for the honor.